The Ecole hôtelière de Lausanne has just celebrated 120 years of linked tradition and innovation.

Some important dates:

1893 The Ecole hôtelière de Lausanne is founded by Jacques Tschumi, an influential member of the Swiss Hotel Association.

1903 The school grows rapidly and moves to its own building in the Avenue de Cour.

1926 The EHL Alumni Association is created.

1945-1951 The euphoria following the war results in further rapid expansion. In 1951, the School numbers about 500 students from 30 different countries. 

1974 EHL becomes a non-profit foundation, while still retaining close links with the Swiss Hotel Association. 

1975 The School moves to Chalet-à-Gobet.

1994 Launch of the new Bachelor of Science in International Hospitality Management, which conforms to the requirements of the newly formed Swiss University of Applied Sciences (Haute Ecole Spécialisée de Suisse Occidentale or HES-SO).

1998 EHL becomes a member institution of the University of Applied Sciences (HES-SO) and is the first hospitality management school to be officially recognized by the Swiss government as a university-level institution. The same year, the School is accredited by the Commission for Career and Technical Institutions (CTCI) of the New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC).

2000 EHL creates the Lausanne Institute for Hospitality Research.

2001 Launch of the Master in Hospitality Administration (MHA).

2003 An International Advisory Board (IAB) is formed to support EHL in the definition and management of its global strategy.

2004 EHL is accredited by NEASC at a higher level, through its Commission on Institutions of Higher Education (CIHE).

2006 A new Alumni Centre is created, with about 25,000 members.

2010 – 2014 Mr. Michel Rochat is appointed Director General of the Ecole hôtelière de Lausanne on 1 June 2010.
Mr. André Witschi becomes President of the Board of Governors on 5 March 2011.
EHL engages in a major effort of reflection and evaluation in order to determine the School’s new development strategy for the years 2012-2020.

By continuing to browse this website, you are agreeing to our privacy policy and the use of cookies